New Captain for Killybegs Golf Society 2013.

 Geoffrey Mc Memamin is the latest member to take the prestigious honour of Captain of Killybegs Golf Society, taking over from James Mc Guinness. Geoffrey took over at the AGM last Saturday night in the Tara Hotel, he thanked James for the great work he did for the year (!!!!!!!) and the committee as well. All the members were taken aback to hear Hughie Moore was in Hospital and we all wish him a speedy recovery.
The new committee was elected as follows
Captain: Geoffrey Mc Menamin.
Secretary: Patrick Breslin.
Assistant Secretary: Marty Mc Ging
Treasurer: Hugh Smith
Assistant treasurer: Michael Campbell.
The prizes for the Christmas outing were handed out by James on one of his last acts for 2012.
Full Results
  1. Manus Boyle Jnr (8) 17+16 total 33 points.
  2. Martin Hernon (10) 20+11 total 31 points.
  3. Arthur Kee (19) 16+13 total 29 points BOT
  4. Marty Mc Ging (14) 16+13 total 29 points.

Front Nine James Mc Guinness (24) 14 points.

Back Nine PJ Gallagher (11) 20 points.


The Golfer of the year went to myself Eamon McGuinness for the second year in a row, if I do say so myself. Micky Campbell was second and like John Ban last year he needed to win on the last day to pass me out on points (didn’t happen).

Also to be presented was the Mossie Moore Cup, won also by Eamon McGuinness who beat Hughie Moore in the Final (before he had the heart attack). We have no pictures because last year’s winner forgot the Cup ! The presentation will be held in Sweet News on Saturday morning if Charlie Tully remembers.

The First outing for 2013 is on March 16 in Narin and Portnoo Golf club from 9am to 10am. Any new or younger people from the area who are thinking about starting should come along and play. Phone Patrick 087 2231643, Marty 086 8352960, Mickey 087 9872809 or Eamon 087 2410097 for details on getting started (calls will not be recorded or used for training purposes).

Check-in Date:

Check-out Date: