N.O.R.A. 2017 – Killybegs Regatta

N.O.R.A. 2017 – Killybegs Regatta - 

Race 9 of NORA 2017 saw the fleet assemble off Mullaghmore Harbour for the 13 mile passage race into Killybegs via the Bullickmore Buoy. With a northwesterly wind of less than 8 knots forecast it looked like a very long day at sea with a high probability that the race would ultimately be abandoned if it ran over the 4 hour time limit.

However the wind God's came up trumps again and the breeze picked up to 12 to 15 knots ( with considerably stronger gusts on the way in to Killybegs) and it also shifted a little more west allowing the fleet lay the Bullickmore on a single tack and then enjoy an exciting spinnaker reach for the last 5 miles into Killybegs, sailing close under the magnificent 28,000 ton MV Albatros, the sixteenth cruise liner to visit Killybegs this season.

SF Engineering took line honours once again, completing the course in 1 hour 44 minutes – a record average of 7.5 knots, with Martin reilly’s J24 Crazy Horse finishing 12 minutes later, the winner on IRC. Indeed Crazy Horse won all 4 of the Killybegs races and adding these to 6 firsts in Mullaghmore scored another resounding overall NORA IRC win on 10 points nett, with SF second on 20, with Wardance third on 32.

Owen Carton’s J24 Printfix showed its true potential in Killybegs when her crew was strengthened by Gerry Gilligan on helm and Colm O’Flaherty, scoring two seconds to take second place in Killybegs Regatta under IRC and also an overall win under Echo with 3 first places). Bronagh Carvill scored two second places to take second overall in Killybegs Regatta under Echo.

The final race of NORA was held on Sunday morning in a return to the extreme conditions experienced in Mullaghmore the previous weekend, with the southerly breeze gusting to over 30 knots.


Overall results for Killybegs Regatta 2017 are :


1st Crazy Horse J24 - Martin Reilly

2nd Printfix J24 - Owen Carton

3rd Antix Beag 1720 Mod - Seamus Farrell



1st Printfix J24 - Owen Carton

2nd Crazy Horse J24 - Martin Reilly

3rd Lazy Bones Jeanneau 36 - Michael Carvill


Overall results for NORA 2017 are :


1st Crazy Horse J24 - Martin Reilly
2nd Antix Beag, 1720 mod - Seamus Farrell
3rd Wardance Sigma 33 - Sean Hawkshaw


1st Printfix J24- Helm Owen Carton
2nd Indigo Kiss J24 MSC - Helm Bronagh Carvill
3rd Wardance Sigma 33 - Helm Sean Hawkshaw

A thoroughly enjoyable and memorable series which pushed all participants to and often beyond their limits. All crews had a ball both on and off the water and look forward to next year’s event. The committee wish to thank the on-shore and off-shore crew of Killybegs Sailing Club, Mullaghmore Sailing Club, Sligo Yacht Club and Lough Erne Sailing Club for making NORA 2017 a great success.

Check-in Date:

Check-out Date: